Updated Everyday Makeup!

I haven’t made a post about what I’ve been wearing lately and how so I wanted to do that today. I don’t remember the last time I did an everyday makeup post, but I am almost certain it’s been more than 2 years. The past few months, I have changed my makeup routine quite a lot. I no longer wear full coverage foundation or false lashes. It got to be too much on my skin especially during these hotter months. I do love long and curly falsies, so I do see myself incorporating those later on this year, but as for foundation, I have always hated how it felt on my skin. It always caked on my skin and felt too heavy. I feel like I’ve been going for a dewy, natural (for me) look lately and it’s super easy and relatively quick for me.  So let’s get to it!

PREP

I used to wash my face every morning but it always dried out my skin and made it look rough when putting on makeup so I just rinse it off with cold water then add my moisturizer. I recently picked up ELF’s hydrating moisturizer with hyaluronic acid and peptide complex and while the consistency looks heavy it goes onto the skin nicely and really absorbs well leaving it soft and supple. I love hyaluronic acid so this product was a no-brainer. Next I use my Neutrogena SPF to protect my skin and really take the time to apply this concentrating around my eyes and neck. It’s a liquid and goes on very easily without a white cast.  

SHADOW

After I have let my SPF absorb into my skin, I go for my primer from Wet N’ Wild and apply that to my  lids. I crease quite quickly so this primer does an awesome job at keeping my shadow lasting just a bit longer. I usually go for an orange or red eye look so I just pick up 2 or 3 colors to blend onto my lid. I don’t really fuss with this if it’s blended. I have been using this palette from Kylie Cosmetics and have added a few shades to the palette from Colourpop. I really like this palette for a nice warm toned lid.

BROWS/LINER

Next I will do my brows and Elf’s wow brow and Colorpop’s boss brow. I first brush them through lightly with the wow brow and fill in any gaps and create the arch I want with the pencil. I go back to my eyes and do my liner.

A quick and thin wing will always be a go-to for me. I have been using Wet N’ Wild’s Mega-liner but am wanting to try something new. Let me know if you have anything in mind that is similar to the mega-liner!

PRIME THE SKIN

Next is the face. Priming my skin, I use both Wet N’ Wild and Elf Primer Putty and focus those primers on certain areas of my skin. The t-zone can get oily so the Wet N’ Wild primer does an awesome job at keeping this area matte. For drier areas I apply the putty primer and let it really sink into my skin to hydrate it and it does an amazing job.

FOUNDATION

After letting it dry, I use the Bare Minerals tinted hydrating gel cream. I got quite the tan, so I have to darken this up with a touch of the Tarte Amazonian Clay. I don’t have much of an opinion on it since I don’t use a lot of it. I work this in with my fingers and let it sit.

POWDER/CONTOUR



I spot set it with my mineral veil from bare minerals. I have been loving BM lately and am excited to try more from them. Once set, I go for some contour to look human again. As always, I go for the Kat Von D contour palette. I need a new one as I have been using this stuff religiously for years. Then I add my concealer from Wet N’ Wild. Setting again with BM. I do the same to my nose.

MASCARA/HIGHLIGHT

Then it’s back to the lashes. I have been using the NYX Worth the Hype mascara. This is the best mascara I’ve used. It’s lengthening without clumping and separates like a dream. Try this out!

Highlighting comes next and I like to add this to the cheekbones, the bridge and tip of my nose, inner corners of my eyes and brow bone. I don’t have a setting spray at the moment, so let me know what you use. Lastly, I add a nude liner to make my eyes pop. And that does it. Every now and then I will add a lip but most days this does it for me.  

My routine is very odd, but I really try and let everything set and dry before I go on to the next step. Tell me in the comments what your daily makeup routine looks like! 

Thanks for reading!

-Sam

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | PINTEREST  


Leave a comment