Book Review- #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso

Hello! As written in a post at for what I hope to accomplish in 2017, I wanted to read more this year, and that’s just what I’ve been doing. #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso is a book I have read before, but I love re-reading it to inspire me when I am feeling like I am becoming unmotivated. While this book has become a Netflix Original tv series, which is also pretty great, the book never fails to make me get up and do something with my life. gbquotepage.jpg

Sophia Amoruso’s #GirlBoss is filled with so many words that make my spirit, mind and creativity rise. The book instantly starts with an intro that says “I have three pieces of advice that I want you to remember: Don’t ever grow up. Don’t become a bore. Don’t ever let the Man get to you. Okay? Cool. Then let’s do this.” These words start off my mind in such a postive and empowering state and I am elated at the words to come. 

Sophia states how she didn’t know what she wanted to do, but that she knew she was capable of something bigger. She struggled, she dug through dumpsters for bagels and shoplifted. This isn’t how one would think she came to her success with Nasty Gal. This is so relatable to me. I’ve never shoplifted or dug through dumpsters, but man do I struggle sometimes. I struggle to keep my mindfulness for positivity. But that’s how it goes. One must struggle a bit to get to where they want to be. While they struggle, they keep that determianation alive to keep going and fighting to make something of themselves. 

gbmagicalthink.jpg

This book also talks about the power of magical thinking. If you believe in something and put all your work and focus into something, there is no reason why one can’t accomplish their goal to led their truest self. I love this chapter because I am trying to become more aware and more focused on what I want to do in my life and this clears my mind of the negative and the what if’s. Positive thinking can help one attain what they want if they make that switch in their minds to become and to have what they want. 

IMG_7489.jpg

#GirlBoss is a book that gives me so much hope and so much fuel to put aside those negative thoughts and focus on my goals. It’s not easy, this book hasn’t ended those bad days where I feel like I am not getting the results I am looking for. However, this book is helping me understand that there will be bad days, and that I can shift myself in to a more positive place. This book reminds me to keep going and keep grinding out as much as I can. This book makes my failures and simply makes my story more interesting.

Thanks for reading!

And stay connected with me on Instagram!

-Sam

4 thoughts on “Book Review- #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso

Leave a Reply

