Day in the Life: Nashville

img_0475-1The beginning of the week started out rocky when I had to deliver a storytelling speech on Monday. Of all days, Halloween. It was a speech about  Jax and how we met and adopted him. I wanted to add some humor and details about it. I had been memorizing it all weekend and when I get called up to deliver my speech…. I went blank. Obviously, this was supposed to be a speech that I knew but I was too worried about the details that I found myself overwhelmed and I stood in front of the class….silent for what felt like an hour. It was only a few seconds until I kept going and finished but man did I feel stupid.

My sister Viki came into town that night and my thoughts about that morning began to fade away.  Anytime her or my other sister Alexa come into town, I feel like I am gaining some of my heart back. My heart is never full unless my family is around. (Sappy much, Sam?) Anyway, Viki and I catch up and we end up being super lazy on Halloween, we eat pizza and watch New Girl.

The next morning started out pretty early for me since I have an 8 a.m. class. Thank goodness, my second class is cancelled so I head back home and me and Viki head to get some breakfast at a new and delicious restaurant. We are all about breakfast.

breakfast.jpg

Now we are off to Nashville for some walks around the city!

Our first stop was at Centennial Park to see the Parthenon. The day was in the mid 80s but we were able to walk around most of the park and saw the Parthenon, the gift shop, this beautiful garden area with these palms that my mom would swoon over and an amazing monument dedicated to the women of The Suffrage Movement.

plant

women.jpg

It was so hot that we had to cool off so we went over to Ben and Jerry’s.  We walked back to where we parked and sat on the sidewalk and just talked about everything. We also took photos and just people watched. This was the highlight of my day because we were just outside in the warm fall weather with leaves crunching all around us as we ate our ice cream, and in that moment I knew that I would look back on this moment with my best friend.

img_0473

After we cooled off, we decided to go to the mall. We ended up taking a detour before hand when I noticed a pumpkin patch. I haven’t been able to go to one, so when I saw this one, I was determined to get a pumpkin. We walked up to the door and were told we could take however many pumpkins we wanted. I got the heaviest pumpkin I could manage to carry and Viki ended up picking one that was rolling down the hill as she took as a sign that it was hers.

Processed with VSCO with a4 presetProcessed with VSCO with a4 preset

Once we got to the mall, we went to Lush and Sephora and got way too many bath bombs and makeup. On our way back home at 4:30, we realized we had run into the afternoon traffic and were scheduled to get back at 5:15. So we took this as a time to have a sing-a-long and once we arrived home, we carved out pumpkins, ate more pizza and watch some more New Girl episodes and passed out. Viki left early this morning and I miss her but I’m glad we made each other feel better and were able to  have fun and forget out our problems for a while. I love you sister.

img_0472

Thanks for reading,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

