Book Review: Bloom: Navigating Life and Style by Estèe Lalonde

Hello hello!

If you’ve read my past posts, I talked about my favorite beauty blogs/YouTubers and the lovely Estèe Lalonde was one of them.

Estèe’s book Bloom: Navigating Life and Style,  was released in the U.S. on October 4th. I pre-ordered it in July. Yes, I was quite excited to read this book. The day it arrived, I could not put it down because her eloquence with words was magical and the photography sprinkled throughout the book was the icing on the cake.

dsc_0987

I related to so many topics she brought up. One of them was making friends. When I was younger, I also felt like I never fit in. I was that slightly annoying girl that just tried too hard to make friends. When I got a bit older, I just became so much more reserved and as a result, school was quite rough for me because I was known as that weird quiet girl, and I could never overcome it until now.

Reading that Estèe went through similar struggles with school and making friends made me feel like someone out there in the world felt just as lonely as I did when I was younger. Despite that lonely feeling, she is right when she says that those feeling and that sad stage in life doesn’t last forever.

Another part of the book that resonated with me was when she was discussing moving away from her family. This chapter touched me so much that I found myself tearing up as my eyes went from word to word and my heart began to feel that familiar feeling of leaving my old life behind for the first time.

My family is the most important thing in my life. I live 2 hours away from my family and have been for a year and a half, but it never gets easy. I recently went to see them for fall break and it when it’s time for me to leave, I always tear up in my car as I pass by my high school, and stores where I got my first job and places where me and my sisters would always eat at.

bloomchapter

It’s nice to see that it’s okay for one to still feel torn between family and your own life. I just keep in mind that I am here to better my life so I can better the life of my family and give back to my parents.

To me, Estèe Lalonde’s Bloom: Navigating Life and Style is a book that many girls and boys can relate to because it’s about creating your own life despite what you’ve been through and being brave enough to create that life. This book is one I can read when I want a pick me up when I feel lonely or if I want fashion inspiration.

photopagebloom

You can order it here!

-Happy Day!

Leave a Reply

